Habitual Pumpkins and Kale

When it comes to gardening, I suck. There have been many attempts at growing our own seasonings which ended with me buying bags of organic oregano from Amazon, and basil, and garlic, and rosemary. When we lived in Gainesville we belonged to an organic gardening co-op. Because of that garden I came to love kale, it’s my favorite veggie, but it’s not because I did anything right. It’s because we were in a group with people who knew what they were doing. When I look back at my growing history, I see that I never really committed past the initial planting period. I would get excited, plant the seed in the pot, and eventually forget to water it or check on it. When Chris and I moved into our current home, we knew we had the perfect yard to finally plant a vegetable garden. We would do it for the fresh organic veggies that don’t take up a quarter of our grocery budget. We have a stack of homesteading books and a dream of growing a garden and raising chicks. And we have decided to do this in the next year.

In preparing to take on this gi-normous task, I realize that I need to make permanent space in my day for this. I’ll need to include the children, for help and for the learning experience. In order for the garden to work, it’s going to have to be a habit and more of a enjoyable hobby, than a chore. Otherwise I won’t keep it up and everything will die.

I noticed something this year in school. My kids had gotten into the habit of having to entertain themselves, of having nothing but free time and the only thing in their lives that was stable was that we were together in the same house. For about 3 months we did no “school” and I worked on moving and cleaning. Last week when we began our 5th year, I have to admit I was questioning our decision after only 1 day. We’re in the Midwest now, surely the schools here are wholesome, right? It would almost be homeschooling. It was stress. We were out of habit and had never taken this long of a break before. I relied on Chris for outward support and spent a lot of time being aware of and captivated by the strength, patience, and endurance of my indwelling Lord. In one specific moment that stands out, I sat on the step outside and asked if I really needed to be homeschooling, and it was as if the “yes” couldn’t have come louder or quicker straight into my heart. So we forged on and during the tough spots I let the children know that we would not be taking our play seriously, while “phoning in” our school work. School is the most important part of their lives between the hours of X and X, and they will not be given the option to be lazy. One day in bed and then an evening filled with traditional workbook style learning, fixed that problem quick. Every day got better and better, for them and for me. And after a while the bulk of the responsibility is lighter and the kids learn on their own time as well as during our specific learning together time. I imagine the garden will be similar. Because it’s something we want to do, but will be hard work and a lot of commitment, I will need to be practice discipline and self control. There will be some afternoons I can stay inside and read, or write, or work (as the Book Lady with my brand spankin’ new certification), but for the most part I will need to create daily space for this activity. And I am sure it will be one of the most rewarding, exciting, mistake filled, but bountiful experiences of my new life. As a Midwestern housewife.

Thanks for reading and have a wonderful day!

Love,

Jackie 

Leave a Reply

