Acceptance of one another

So many times the Lord has taken me to a new level. Of knowing Him, of connecting with Him, and in my freedom with Him. It’s a really exciting time in a Christian’s life, when we move forward in our journey with Him. Sometimes it can be a bit overwhelming and I forget that very little of what has happened was thanks to myself. It’s Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit within me that moves me forward. But as a mere human it’s too easy to fall into a trap of taking credit for changes within me.

Often times in the Scripture the Lord asked different things from different people. He gave specific direction and other times He spoke in parables. And it’s always been a little humorous to me that He didn’t further explain the parables. He was kinda’ like, if you get it great! But He never sat with people and told them some of the things we tell each other. When we get a glimpse of Him and it’s always powerful to get that glimpse, it’s just too easy to begin looking with judgemental eyes at another’s ways.

From now on, that is how I know and see good fruit and recognize Christ’s teaching. Should I ever be so bold to look down upon a model of church, shame on me. When leaving the traditional model of church I was the number one opponent of that style. It becomes very easy to point out any type of church that does not follow our model and say things like  “This is not what the Lord intends for His Body”. How do we know? Has any of us been to heaven and had a sit down with God and asked Him which church was the right one? Of course not. How dare we speak ill of another’s spiritual life, or religion.

Sin is another story, even Christ was clear about how to handle problems and sin and it wasn’t to just merrily go along with what we know in our hearts to be wrong. But what about divisions of churches? Do we have a right to say that certain people are not experiencing a full and healthy relationship with the Lord, just because they worship at home, or in an institution?

I have had amazing, life shattering moments in every place I’ve been, but it’s not because of the model of church, it was because I sought the Lord no matter where I lived.

Acceptance of how people worship is a great sign of a healthy church. A lot of us say we are okay with how other choose to love the Lord and “be” a church, but with their words, they are condescending and judgemental. I am a blogger. I read others blogs. We are not what you would call normal Christians, but rather out-of-the-box-church Christians. The thing I have come to realize is that we are not any better for it. And I’ve said that for years, only now I don’t back it up with an explanation why our way is the way that makes us an expression of Christ.

The main message of Christ’s life was acceptance. He wanted us to treat others the way we want to be treated. You know, recently I thought about that. I had some wonderful leaders and friends come into my life who shared with me some half-truths I was living by. I was really defensive at first, but then grateful. I was glad to have someone spend the time reminding me of Christ’s teachings. And now with a major health test looming, I am closer to God than ever. At the risk of sounding dramatic, I may get to see Him sooner rather than later. I am making sure all my ducks are in a row with my spiritual life. And hopefully they are.

There are people in my life who have hurt me bad. I don’t owe them anything, but forgiveness. We can tell a lot about people by how they treat others. The world sees Christians by how we judge others. Are we kind and forgiving, or angry and righteous. Humility is a beautiful thing. I really respect and admire those who can admit their mistakes. I have made many and am the first to call myself out. My mom gets on me about that. She’s always telling me to go easier on myself. I wish I could.

I had a sense of peace tonight. I recently came out told my story about situation I was in. No doubt that it will be ignored, or more likely pieces will be taken out and spun to fit a defense for why I am wrong. Hey, I can take it. Honestly, I may not be here much longer. I am glad I found my way out before now. I hope others listen to my life story, as it is done with the intention of reminding Christians who their Lord is and what He spoke about… faith, love and works.

If I should leave the earth tomorrow I am at peace with Him. I know He is with me all the time and has been since I was 17 years old. I would never try to tell another Christian what the Lord wants for them as it’s personal for all of us. But there are some things He was clear about. And we can’t just live by some and ignore the rest. And let me never forget to love my Brothers and Sisters in the Lord. How dare the man to judge another’s personal relationship with the Lord, if it be passive in a pew or having movie night at a friend’s house (as I’ve seen being the church worked out in both ways).

Have a good night.

Love,

Jackie

Leave a Reply

