taking a sabbatical

Hey guys. Sorry I haven’t been my usual blogging self lately. I got sick, again, and had to take some time to heal. After this latest health problem it occurred to me that if I didn’t do something radical to cleanse my mind, body and spirit, that I may never be completely well again. Last year I had many procedures and surgeries. One of which was a complete thyroidectomy. And because I had cancer I needed three doses of radioactive iodine in a very short period of time. It destroyed my immune system. I have been unwell since. It seems like I just can’t get caught up in life. So last week I made the decision to take a sabbatical. The point? To rebuild my immune system. To teach my body how to sleep. To spend time on myself and get healthy so that I can be a better mom, wife and to live life to the fullest instead of being sick. All. The. Time.

As you know I am a huge advocate of homeschooling. It has been proven the best method of schooling if the family has the resources to buy and collect a decent library of living books and curriculum as well as providing the homeschooled kids with opportunities to make friends and try new experiences. Homeschoolers overall have higher test scores, social skills, and blah, blah, blah. The benefits are well documented. So here’s my conundrum, do I place the kids in public school while I take a full sabbatical? Or do I homeschool and only partly focus on the process of cleansing my system and restoring my whole-body wellness?

I’ve been very conflicted as I weigh the pro’s and con’s. I love homeschooling so it may be good for me to continue this family journey together. Should I keep them home, I would commit to getting the kids to homeschool functions at least once a week with no problem.

Con’s? I need sleep. Like, months of sleep. If they went to school, I could use that time to sleep until I was no longer so tired. Then when I haven finally rested, I would move on to using that quiet time to find my center, Christ. I need time for prayer and meditation because health doesn’t happen without attention to the mind and spirit. I can feel how unbalanced and cluttered I am after last year’s string of upsets on my health. Purely out of need, we have drifted away from our natural, organic diet and have started eating a lot of processed foods. I want to take the time and re-learn the habit of eating a very healthy, fresh diet. It took time to become an organic mom to begin with so I expect that it will take time to get back to that practice.  After clearing my mind of clutter, then my body, comes my home. I would like to deep clean my home and rid the closets and corners of things we don’t use or need. I would like to spring clean the place I spend most of my time because it makes a difference in emotional and mental health. Dust and clutter give me the heebie jeebies. My kids like to hoard. I don’t know that I could do all the cleansing of material items with them anywhere near me… they would be unloading the bags and boxes as I pack them.

So, I really want to do what’s best for my family. And Chris and I are in agreement that homeschooling is best, but we did not plan on illness hitting me this hard. If I had it to do all over again I would have taken more time to heal after each surgery and I would have cleansed my system after each round of mega-doses of medication. I would have dealt with it all right away instead of rushing to get back to cleaning and homeschooling. So here I am today, facing a decision I never thought I would be forced to make. Do I put the kids in school, not because “it’s time” or because we want to (they do not want to go), but because mom needs time to rest and get well mind, body and spirit… or do I keep the kids home and homeschool them while I try to take a sabbatical of sorts?

I’ll keep you posted. I’m so tired. As I end this I would like to add that this is not a decision we are considering suddenly or lightly. This is not something we want to do or are even comfortable doing, but I am just so tired that I can barely keep my eyes open. I wonder what would happen if I got rest, got caught up on life, which is kicking my tush right now, and then tried to homeschool? Would the small sacrifice of using the public schools for their intended purpose (as a back up to home schools) , pay off in the end? Or do I continue on and hope that the little bits of rest and time to myself will be enough if I just have faith? My kids are not prepared for the politics of public schools. It would be especially difficult for 2 of them as they are not used to being told that they need to sit for hours a day and not talk. I read that I shouldn’t put them in school if they can’t sit for 2 hours at a time. They can’t. Also, my kids are used to learning at their own pace. With all the resources they need at their fingertips. It would be hell on earth for them to learn from textbook/workbooks. I hate to do that to them. But right now I am not doing my best for them either. Decisions, decisions. Keep you all posted.

Love,

Jackie

Have a good one guys. Keep you posted and write

Leave a Reply

